Apr 12

New Chairman Elected

At the Annual General Meeting held on 7th April, Jason Bevan was elected as the new chairman of Tongwynlais Temperance Band.

Jason replaces Gareth Hann, who had been Chairman of the Band since 2008 and during his tenure has overseen great change and development within the organisation which includes fine contest wins and qualification to the British Open in 2010. Also the sale of the old band room and the purchase of a new music centre in the heart of Cardiff which is to open very soon. Gareth has relinquished the role due to increasing demands at work but is continuing to play cornet in the band.

The Band wishes to place on record its sincere thanks and gratitude to Gareth for his substantial work over this period.
The new Chairman is steeped in the history and traditions of the organisation, having been a player since the 1980’s and a committee member for the past 10 years.

At the same meeting Sue Jones was elected our New Treasurer and replaces Eira Roberts who stands down from the role after 2 years. The Band wish to thank Eira for all her hard work and dedication during this period.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>